The information in this web site is intended to aid you in understanding your rights and
responsibilities relating to property tax in Fannin County. This site does not necessarily cover
every aspect of property taxation and should not be relied upon as a legal source of information.
There are many complex tax laws in Georgia, so if you don’t find the answers to your questions
below, or, if you need clarification on information you find here, please contact us.
What is property taxation?
Property tax is an ad valorem tax, which means according to value. Ad valorem tax, the tax collected
by the tax commissioner, is based on the value of the taxable property in the county.
What property is taxed?
All real estate and personal property are taxable unless law has exempted the property. (O.C.G.A.
48-5-3) Real property is land and generally anything that is erected, growing or affixed to the
land; personal property is everything that can be owned that is not real estate. Personal property
typically consists of inventory and fixtures used in conducting business, boats, aircraft, farm
machinery, motor vehicles and mobile homes. Your household property is not normally taxable.
Who decides how much my property is worth for taxes?
The Board of Assessors has the responsibility of determining the value of property in Fannin County.
Each year between January 1 and April 1 every property owner has the ability to declare a proposed
value for their property. (O.C.G.A. 48-5-9) These values are declared in the manner of 'filing a
return'. Returns for real estate are filed in the Tax Commissioner's office and returns for personal
property are filed with the Board of Assessors. The Board of Assessors will review your proposed
value and if they disagree, an assessment notice with the Boards' value will be mailed to you.
What if I disagree with the Tax Assessors' value?
Taxpayers may challenge an assessment by Fannin County Board of Tax Assessors by appealing to Fannin
County Board of Equalization within 45 days from the date of the assessment notice. Once the county
board of equalization has rendered a decision, the taxpayer may continue their appeal to the
superior court by mailing or filing with Fannin County Board of Tax Assessors a written notice
wishing to continue the appeal.
What is the difference between fair market value and assessed value?
Assessed value is defined as being 40% of the fair market value. Property in Georgia is taxed on the
What is a millage rate?
The tax rate, or millage rate, is set annually by the Fannin County Board of Commissioners and the
Fannin County Board of Education. A tax rate of one mill represents a tax liability of one dollar
per $1,000 of assessed value. Each governing authority estimates their total revenue from other
sources. This figure is subtracted from their overall budgetary needs, and then a millage rate is
set that will generate the necessary revenues to fulfill budgetary requirements.
How is my tax bill calculated?
Once the property owner and the Board of Assessors have come to terms with an appropriate value,
this value is provided to the Tax Commissioner for tax bill calculation. To calculate a tax bill,
you must first deduct any exemptions that may apply from the assessed value; thus generating a net
assessed (taxable) value. Next you multiply the net assessed value by the millage rate.
When is my tax bill due?
Taxes for real estate and business personal property are normally due in Fannin County by December
20th of each year. Mobile/modular homes are due April 1st of each year and motor vehicles are due
based on the owners' birthday.
After the due date, for real estate and business personal property, interest at the rate of 1% per
month is charged. If the property taxes remain unpaid, the tax commissioner has the right and
responsibility to levy on the property for non-payment.
Is there any way to reduce my tax bill?
Yes. There are several exemptions and special assessment programs available that may apply to your
property. The most common are the homestead exemption for real estate and for business personal
property there is the Freeport exemption. Contact the Fannin County Tax Assessor’s Office for
details of the available exemptions.
What is and how do I file for homestead exemption?
Homestead exemption is the system developed by the State of Georgia that exempts from taxation a
specified amount of assessed value of your home. To apply for homestead exemption bring a copy of
your warranty deed to the Tax Assessor’s office between January 2 and April 1. To qualify you must
both own and occupy your home as of January 1. Once you have qualified for homestead exemption and
remain in the same house you do not need to reapply. However, if you move, you are required to
reapply for the exemption for the new location. Beginning June 1, 2005 application for homestead
exemption may be submitted any time during the year but must be received before April 1 of the
taxable year to qualify for the exemption that year. If received after April, the Tax Assessor will
activate the exemption the following year.
Where do I get a copy of my warranty deed?
You can obtain a copy of your warranty deed from the Clerk of Superior Court. This office is located
at the Fannin County Courthouse, 400 West Main Street, Blue Ridge, GA 30513.
Do I pay taxes on my mobile/modular home?
Yes. Mobile/modular homes are considered personal property and are taxable in the State of Georgia.
Tax must be paid annually with a due date of April 1st. The owner of any mobile/modular home located
in Fannin County must file a return and obtain a location permit. In order to obtain this permit the
mobile home tax for the current year must be paid in full.
Where do property tax dollars go?
To support administration of county government and the public school system
To build and repair public buildings and bridges
To pay expenses of courts, county jail and law enforcement
To build and maintain county roads
To provide for fire protection
To provide for public health and sanitation
Will paying my taxes late affect my credit?
When taxes remain unpaid for more than 90 days after their due date, the taxes are subject to a tax
fifa (lien) being recorded in the Office of the Clerk of Superior Court. These records are public so
credit bureaus may access them and may use them to adversely affect your credit. The tax office does
not deal with these credit bureaus and so has no control of how they use the information or how
often they update their records.
This is an abbreviated list please see Ga. Code for a complete list. (O.C.G.A. 48-5-220)